Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube

2009 Honorary Awards

Greg Dyke – former Director General of the BBC
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon D Litt)

Greg DykeGreg Dyke started his broadcasting career in 1977 at London Weekend Television (LWT). He became Editor-in-Chief of TV-am in 1983 and the following year Director of Programmes for TVS.  He returned to LWT in 1987 as Director of Programmes and from 1991 to 1994 he was Group Chief Executive of LWT (Holdings) plc. 
In 1994 Greg Dyke joined Pearson Television as Chief Executive, later becoming its first chairman.   He was also Chairman of GMTV and at various times a director of Pearson plc, Channel Four Television, ITN and BSkyB. In January 2000 he became Director-General of the BBC and in his four years there he started four new digital television channels, five digital radio channels, opened two new BBC regions, launched the BBC’s interactive television services and helped create Freeview.  He also made major commitments to expand the BBC’s education services and to improve the cultural diversity of the workforce.  
After leaving the BBC in January 2004 Greg Dyke was made Chancellor of the University of York and Chairman of HIT - a large international television production company specialising in programmes for the under fives. He is a member of the supervisory board of ProSiebenSat.1 - one of Europe’s largest free to air broadcasting groups - Chair of the British Film Institute, Executive Chairman of Britain’s biggest theatre group, ATG.  He is also an advisor on leadership to the NHS.

Aristotelis Thomopoulos – President and Managing Director K&I Thomopoulos Hotel Enterprises SA and President of the Board of Directors of Hellenic Exhibitions – Helexpo SA
Honorary Doctor of Letters (Hon D Litt)

Upcoming Events